Jun 15, 2024  
2023-2024 Catalog 
2023-2024 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Tuition & Paying for College

A college education is one of the most important investments you will make. Colorado Mountain College is committed to providing access to everyone who can benefit from a program of higher education.

The cost of attending Colorado Mountain College varies depending on residency status, program of study, housing status and other services needed. The following section covers general tuition and fee costs you may expect by attending Colorado Mountain College during the 2023-2024 academic year.

Residency Classification

Residency status determines tuition classification, which is governed by Colorado state law. Details can be found on the Colorado Department of Higher Education Residency Requirements page.

To be domiciled in Colorado for tuition classification purposes, the student (or their parent/legal guardian as prescribed by the law) must have physical presence in the state and an intent to maintain that as a true, fixed permanent place of residence. You may be required to furnish the following documents to assist in the verification of residency: Colorado state income tax returns, current driver’s license, motor vehicle registration and voter’s registration; proof of physical presence such as rent receipts, canceled checks, or other acceptable evidence; and a petition for residency classification.

If you feel you have been incorrectly classified, you may request a tuition reclassification petition and a copy of the summary of the state statutes governing tuition classification from the Tuition Classification Officer at any Colorado Mountain College campus. This petition will be processed only if you have an application for admission on file, or are currently enrolled. The petition must be submitted no later than 10 working days after the start of the semester or after initial registration for the mid-semester starting classes. More information and residency reclassification petitions and forms are available on CMC’s Residency Requirements page. 

Any student who willfully gives wrong or misleading information to avoid paying non-resident tuition is subject to legal and disciplinary action.

Colorado Resident

To be classified as a Colorado resident for tuition purposes, you must be domiciled in the state for a minimum of 12 months prior to the first day of the semester. If you attend Colorado Mountain College as an out-of-state student and establish domicile during your attendance, you may submit a Tuition Reclassification Petition for a subsequent semester. 

An individual 23 years of age or older can qualify as an in-state student, for tuition purposes only, if they move to the state to accept employment, the employer is paying the qualified person’s tuition, and the qualified person demonstrates the intent to establish permanent domicile in the state.

If you are under the age of 23, your parent or legal guardian must be domiciled for a minimum of 12 months; or you must prove emancipation from your parents if they are not domiciled residents of the state.

In-District Resident

The Colorado Mountain College district consists of all or part of Garfield, Eagle, Summit, Pitkin, and Lake counties, plus Routt School District RE2 and Salida School District R32-J.

To gain in-district status for tuition purposes, you must be a Colorado state resident, and be domiciled in the Colorado Mountain College district for a minimum period of 32 days prior to the first day of the semester. If you are under the age of 23, you must prove emancipation from your parents if they reside out of the district. If you attend CMC as an out-of-state student and gain in-state status while residing in the district, you may earn in-district status at the time of your in-state classification.

Additionally, a student who has been classified as an in-state Colorado resident for tuition purposes and who owns a residence (i.e., a second home) in the CMC district, or is a dependent of a person who owns a residence in the district, shall be classified as an in-district student for tuition purposes.

Out-of-State Resident

An out-of-state resident is a person who does not meet the Colorado State residency requirements to be eligible for in-state or in-district classification. 

Tuition and Other Costs

Textbooks and Course Materials

Textbooks, ebooks or other learning materials*, such as single-use access to online instructional websites, are required for most credit courses.

Required textbooks and learning materials are provided at an affordable rental rate through CMC’s Learning Materials Program (LMP). The program automatically provides the materials for classes in which the student is registered at a flat-rate access fee per credit hour. Students receive all credit course materials and required textbooks at the start of each semester, usually before the first day of class, depending on the registration date. At the end of the term, students are required to return all materials to the LMP system by the last date of the semester or choose to purchase them at a discounted “buy out” rate. Students access their customized Learning Materials online dashboard, order summary, return dates and other information directly from Basecamp.

Students should verify their address prior to every semester or they will not receive their LMP rental materials. 

Students who select the audit grading option for classes are automatically opted out of the LMP. These students do not receive learning materials and do not incur LMP charges to their accounts. If auditing students wish to acquire textbooks for the class, they can purchase them separately from eCampus or another third party. 

If you have questions, please visit the CMC LMP page or contact CMC LMP customer service at 1(844) 523-9056 or cmclmp@coloradomtn.edu.

*Some specialty materials and lab kits are not included in the flat rate program.

Standard Tuition Rates for 2023-2024

The charts below list in-district, in-state, and out-of-state tuition rates for a single credit at both the associate level (1000-2000) and bachelor’s level (3000-4000). 2023-2024 tuition rates begin in the fall semester of 2023.

Associate and Bachelor courses (1000-4000 level)


Rate per credit

Total for 15 credits per semester

In-district students



In-state students



Out-of-state students



See the Residency Classification section earlier in this chapter for information about in-district and in-state classification.

Differential rates for Bachelor of Science in Nursing and Bachelor of Arts in Education

For the Bachelor of Science in Nursing and the Bachelor of Arts in Education, there is an addition to the standard tuition rates shown above. 


Additional Tuition

3000- and 4000-level courses for the Bachelor of Arts in Education

Add $25 per credit hour

3000- and 4000-level courses for the Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Add $40 per credit hour

Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) Tuition Rate

The Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) tuition program allows students from 14 western states to attend Colorado Mountain College by paying one and one-half the cost of in-state tuition instead of the full out-of-state tuition rate. Students who are residents of the states listed below are considered for the award; however, acceptance into WUE is not guaranteed, and WUE awards are limited. To be considered, students must submit a completed CMC Admissions Application, all applicable transcripts and/or test scores, a copy of a valid WUE state driver’s license and the CMC WUE Participation form.

WUE Eligible States

Residents of the following states may be eligible for WUE tuition rates: Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Commonwealth of Northern Marianas Islands.

Freshmen and students transferring who are enrolling for the first time at CMC are eligible for WUE consideration. See the CMC WUE Colleges Discount page for excluded programs.

Through acceptance of the special WUE tuition classification, students acknowledge their intent to maintain their legal domicile in their home state at the time of application. If students desire to change their legal domicile to any other state, including Colorado, they must notify the Registrar’s Office. At that time a student may be changed to out-of-state tuition rates. Please note that time accrued while participating in the WUE tuition program cannot be used to establish domiciliary intent for purposes of claiming Colorado residency.

WUE Participation Criteria

Please visit the CMC WUE page and complete the CMC WUE Participation form by July 15 for the fall semester, and December 1 for the spring semester. For the summer semester, contact Admissions.

  1. Be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident of the U.S.

  2. Maintain enrollment with a minimum of 15 credits for each semester you attend (summer semester is a minimum of six credit hours).

  3. Maintain good academic standing with a 2.0 cumulative GPA or higher.

  4. Remain a permanent resident of your home WUE state (maintaining your home state driver’s license will be required).

  5. Eligibility for the WUE discount is available for 1000 through 4000 level courses.

  6. WUE rates are available to first-time freshmen and transfer students. 

  7. Continuing WUE students do not need to re-submit the WUE Participation form each semester, but they must register during early registration in order to keep their WUE status. Students who fail to register during early registration will forfeit their WUE discount and will be re-classified as out-of-state students.  

For more information, please contact the Central Admissions Office at (970) 947-8327.

Veterans and Active-Duty Military Tuition Rate

Active-duty military, veterans, their spouses and dependents (under the age of 23) may be eligible for a tuition discount. To be considered for this discount, see the criteria below. More information may be found on the CMC Veterans and Active Duty Military page.

To apply for this discount you must provide the following;

  1. A complete Admissions Application indicating your military affiliation under the “Veteran Military Service” section of the application.

  2. A copy of a DD-214 showing any discharge status other than dishonorable.

  3. A complete FAFSA for the first academic year the military discount is applied*. (Students using Military Tuition Assistance or VA Educational Benefits are not required to submit the FAFSA). 

*Your FAFSA must be official and complete, including any follow-up requirements that may be requested after your initial FAFSA is processed, in order for this discount to be awarded.

This discount is not available for online programs or a semester of all online courses.

This discount was approved by the Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees to honor U.S. veterans, active-duty military and their families.

For more information contact the Coordinator of Military Benefits at military@coloradomtn.edu.

Olympic Athletes

If you are participating in a Colorado-based elite-level training program approved by the United States Olympic Committee and a National Governing Body of an Olympic, Paralympic, Pan American or Parapan American sport, you may be eligible to receive in-state tuition, regardless of your permanent residency.

To receive this classification:

  • Please visit the CMC Team USA page and complete the Team USA In-State Tuition Athlete Verification form.
  • Submit the form to ACE.edu@usoc.org to obtain your NGB and USOC approval. Submit the signed form to the Admissions Office by the first day of class each term (see the Academic Calendar ).
  • A new Team USA In-State Tuition Athlete Verification Form must be signed each term.

For more information, please contact:

Alanna Flax-Clark
Athlete Services Grants Specialist
(719) 208-6221

Continuing Opportunity Tuition Rate

Financially independent adults who completed CMC’s ESL or HSE program, and who have resided in the CMC district for 2+ years but do not qualify for in-state tuition, may be eligible for in-state tuition rates. 

Native American Ute Nation Tuition Rate

Students who provide proof of membership with the Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah & Ouray Reservations are eligible for the in-district rate.

District Employer Sponsored Tuition Rate

The District Employer Sponsored Rate enables Colorado Mountain College to provide educational services for local tax-paying businesses who are paying for their employees’ credit courses without penalizing them for employees who do not meet state residency requirements. Under this classification, the employer paying the tuition of the student must be an employer in our district and set up as a third-party organization for billing purposes, and then can pay the in-district rate for employees who are in-state or out-of-state residents involved in job-related training activities.  

Second Homeowner Tuition Rates

Students who are classified as non-residents but own a residence in the Colorado Mountain College district are allowed to register for up to three credits per semester at a rate equivalent to in-state, or they may enroll in one four or five credit course at this rate. (Students cannot take a series of courses that add up to either four or five credits with this rate.) If an out-of-state resident student takes more than the allowed number of credits within one semester, all credits (including the original credits) will be charged at the regular out-of-state rate. The tuition reduction cannot be used for online courses exclusively. The Second Homeowner discount rate is reserved for homeowners, not dependents of homeowners.   

Senior Grant Tuition Rate

Colorado Mountain College provides grants for 50% of the tuition charge for district residents who are 62 years old or older. This policy applies to credit courses only. Rate determination is based on the date of birth and age at the date of registration.

Miscellaneous Charges

Students may incur additional charges that are not listed on this page. Below are some examples of miscellaneous charges.

  • Bad check or ACH ($25 per occurrence)
  • Enrollment in a Payment Plan, if needed ($25 per semester)
  • Library fines
  • Charges when an official CMC transcript is requested

Program and Course Specific Fees

Because of special requirements for laboratories and specialized equipment and materials, several programs carry supplemental fees in addition to other instructional costs. These are called Instructional Program Fees. Some programs also require you to purchase professional equipment. Check with your College Counselor/Advisor to determine if program fees apply to your course of study. Course Specific Fees are also listed in the course schedule.

Course Specific Fees and Instructional Program Fees are mandatory fees, approved by the Board of Trustees. 

When necessary, the college also makes consumable course materials available to its students through a course section charge. These consumables are officially called supplies, and tax charges apply. Section charges may also include travel, access charges, certifications, and equipment rental, and are a cost beyond tuition. The student is not obligated to purchase these things from the college, but the college reserves the right to exclude a student from a class if appropriate alternate arrangements have not been made prior to the beginning of the class. A student supply list is available at registration desks for student inspection, and the charges are summarized in the applicable course descriptions in Student Planning.  

Technology Fees

To address the constantly changing technology environment and associated costs, the College charges a flat Technology Fee based on enrollment. The fee is as follows:

Approved Technology Fees for 2023-2024

Per Semester Flat Fee

Credit Hours

Credit Hours

Credit Hours

Credit Hour Fee




Additional Residence Hall Fee




Cost Summary Table

This table offers a side-by-side comparison of most conceivable costs and fees associated with attending a commuter or residential campus.

Because many of our campuses are located in resort communities with high rent and food costs, the residence hall with food service, at $16,100 for eight months, is an affordable option for full-time students.

Product or Service*

Commuter Campus

Residential Campus

Two 15-credit semesters, in-district tuition



Technology Fee ($50 for 12+ credits, two semesters)



Food Service (19 meal per week plan for two semesters)



Residence Hall (double occupancy, two semesters)



Student Activity Fees (two semesters)



Residence Hall Technology Fee (two semesters)



LMP Textbook Plan (subscription plan for two semesters at $25 per credit)**



Grand Total



*Some courses and programs have additional fees for supplies and materials. Please see the CMC Tuition and Costs page for a link to Course and Program Fees. 

**Learning Materials Program (LMP). In some cases, the LMP fee is not applicable, and specialized course and/or program fees apply.

Student Activity Fees

All Colorado Mountain College students who are enrolled at residential campuses are required to pay a Student Activity Fee each semester. Students who pay the fee may attend social, athletic and cultural events on campus free of charge or with a minimal fee. In addition to these events, the fee also funds student organizations and clubs. All events are planned and supervised by Student Government and the campus Student Activities Coordinator. The Steamboat fee includes a $25 portion dedicated to an approved health, wellness and recreational program.  

Credit Hours

Steamboat Springs


Spring Valley

6 - 8.9




9 - 11.9








Spring Valley Fees for the Field House

Spring Valley students enrolled in six credits or more are required to pay a $100 fee for the Field House each semester.

Payment Plan

Paying for the rising costs of a college education is a concern for most everyone. Colorado Mountain College offers a number of different options for obtaining financial assistance with these costs. Among them are a payment plan, grants, scholarships, loans and work-study options.

Colorado Mountain College has partnered with Touchnet to offer our students a plan in which payments can be spread throughout the semester. This is not a loan program; there are no interest or finance charges assessed, and there is no credit check. The cost to enroll in an interest-free monthly payment plan is $25 per semester (non-refundable) and a down payment of 20% to 25% of charges at the time of enrollment. To be eligible, students must have a minimum balance of $50 of tuition charges on their account. Payments are made either through ACH or credit card, and are due the 5th or 20th of each month in that term. Please visit the CMC Payment Plan page for the payment schedule and additional details.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

ADA Physical and Academic Requirements

Colorado Mountain College certificates and degrees may have certain physical and academic standards for admission. Physical and academic program standards may also be referred to as technical standards or essential eligibility standards and are included on specific academic program webpages or handbooks. 

If you have questions about meeting the physical and academic standards, please contact the Access Coordinator at the location you plan to attend. Access Coordinators facilitate an interactive process to assess a student’s ability to meet physical and academic standards. Contact information is found on the CMC Access, Inclusion & Disability Services page.

Students with disabilities have the right to access any program offered by the College as long as they meet all of the same eligibility requirements and prerequisites for enrollment. Students with disabilities are held to the same financial obligations, academic performance expectations, and consequences for both success and failure as all other students. More information is available on the CMC Access, Inclusion & Disability Services page.

ADA Statement for Concurrent Enrollment

As a public postsecondary institution, Colorado Mountain College adheres to the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA; Pub. L. 101-336, 104 Stat. 327, 42 U.S.C. 12101-12213 and 47 U.S.C. 225 and 611; see the ADA Title II Regulations page). Students enrolled in concurrent enrollment courses at CMC are considered college-level students for purposes of compliance with federal law. This means that concurrent enrollment students in need of support or accommodation for physical or mental disabilities will be supported by the college according to the requirements of the ADA as it applies to students in higher education. According to federal law, qualifying disabilities include a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more of the major life activities of such individual; a record of such an impairment; or being regarded as having such an impairment. CMC will provide reasonable accommodations for qualifying disabilities sought by the individual (including guardians for minors). Students seeking accommodations should see the information provided on the CMC Notice of Non-Discrimination page.

Living On Campus

Food Service Choices and Costs

When you live in a CMC residence hall, you will automatically participate in the food service program. Other students may purchase food service through a meal program or a la carte. All three residential campuses offer different selections in their meal plan programs depending on your campus location. Prices are subject to change annually.

2023-2024 Food Service Costs per semester


Meals + DD*


Steamboat Springs

19/week (+ $100 DD)


Steamboat Springs

14/week (+ $300 DD)


Spring Valley at Glenwood Springs

23/week (+ $100 DD)


Spring Valley at Glenwood Springs

19/week (+ $100 DD)


Spring Valley at Glenwood Springs

14/week (+ $100 DD)



19/week (+ $100 DD)



14/week (+ $300 DD)


Block Plan (All Campuses)

180/semester (+ $225 DD)


*Dining Dollars (DD) are available to spend at campus dining halls and cafes (where available).

2023-2024 prices are subject to change.

Housing Choices and Costs

All of our residence halls are modern and comfortable, with high-speed internet access and private bathrooms. As long as you apply early, you will have an opportunity to choose or specify your ideal roommate and living situation, possibly even a single room (subject to availability).

On-campus housing in residence halls is available at the Steamboat Springs, Spring Valley at Glenwood Springs and Leadville campuses. 

2023-2024 Housing Rates per semester 









2023-2024 prices are subject to change.

Colorado Mountain College Housing Initiative

Colorado Mountain College is investing in new apartment-style student housing at four of its campuses to address the difficulty many students have in finding a place to live. Construction is anticipated to be completed by June 2023 and open for leasing prior to the fall 2023 semester at CMC campuses in Breckenridge, Vail Valley at Edwards, Spring Valley at Glenwood Springs and Steamboat Springs.

New apartments are studio and two-bedroom units and will be primarily for upper-division students who reside and work in mountain communities year-round and are finishing their degrees. New students are eligible to apply to the residence halls at Leadville, Steamboat Springs or Spring Valley at Glenwood Springs. 

Housing Applications and Deposits

Living on campus is a great opportunity to be close to all the action and conveniences of college life. Steamboat Springs, Spring Valley at Glenwood Springs and Leadville campuses require all new students under age 21 to live on campus in the residence halls for their first academic year. Reserve your space by submitting a $300 security deposit and completing the online Housing Application. $50 of the security deposit is non-refundable. Housing is limited and can fill quickly. Applicants are encouraged to submit their CMC Admissions and Housing Applications, along with the security deposit early.

More information about the Security Deposit Refund Policy and Live-On Policy is available online or by contacting the Student Services staff at your campus.

Residence Hall Computer Access, Fees and Hardware Requirements

Students are encouraged to utilize wired connections for faster and more reliable service. Wireless is available throughout the building. A $100 Residence Hall Technology Fee is charged per semester to all residence hall students. The ResNet will support any device and operating system that complies with the following networking requirements.

Device Networking Requirements
Wireless: 802.11n or higher, WPA2-AES security
Wired: 10/100/1000base-T Ethernet
IPv4 with DHCP
IPv6 (optional)

Up-to-date anti-virus/anti-malware software

Not Permitted
Personal wireless access points or routers
Use of peer-to-peer file sharing such as BitTorrent

Personal mobile hotspots
Wireless printers
Gaming systems on wireless networks
Home automation devices